KSBDC recognizes Small Business Development Center staff

LEXINGTON, Ky., – The Kentucky Small Business Development Center recognized staff members from its network of centers for their achievements at the annual fall conference held at the Hilton Suites Lexington Green.

KSBDC state director Becky Naugle and Ralph Ross, the U.S. Small Business Administration Louisville district director, were on hand for the presentation of the year’s biggest awards. Top honors went to Northern Kentucky University SBDC, named 2014 Center of the Year. This award is bestowed upon the SBDC center posting the highest results based on the annual goals.

The Louisville SBDC received the Spirit Award for 2014. This award recognizes the center that demonstrated the SBDC spirit of service to the network and clients during the year.

The University of Kentucky Center at Elizabethtown was awarded the Michael Rodriguez Traveling Trophy to acknowledge the largest goal increase achievement during the final six months of the fiscal year.

Kevin Norvell, of the University of Kentucky central office, was named 2014 Team Player of the Year for exhibiting extraordinary leadership and willingness to assist others. During his tenure, Norvell has gone above and beyond in upholding the KSBDC’s mission to create economic growth.

Peggie Ervin, of Morehead State University SBDC, and Tricia Hudson, of Murray State University SBDC, were named 2014 Administration Persons of the Year. The women were recognized for their diligent work on behalf of clients and fellow co-workers.

2014 Million Dollar Loan Club Inductees

In addition, 14 staff members were inducted into the exclusive Kentucky Small Business Development Center Million Dollar Loan Club. This honor is reserved for management consultants who help business clientele secure $1 million or more in loans to start, expand or purchase their companies. Statewide, KSBDC consultants aided entrepreneurs with more than $29 million in loans during the 2013-2014 fiscal year.

The 2014 inductees were:

  • Fausto Sarmiento and Jay Houston, UK Bluegrass SBDC
  • John Preston, Eastern Kentucky University SBDC
  • Steve Heil and Patricia Krausman, UK Elizabethtown SBDC
  • David Oetken, UK Louisville SBDC
  • Mike Morley and Mark Murphy, Morehead SBDC
  • John Mitchell, Chris Wooldridge and Lois Decker, Murray SBDC
  • Rebecca Volpe, NKU SBDC
  • Miller Slaughter, Western Kentucky University SBDC
  • Gordon Garrett, UK SBDC Central office

KSBDC presented seven staff members with service awards. Five years of service recipients were: Sean Moore, UK Bluegrass SBDC; Michelle Spriggs, Morehead SBDC; Matt Whitaker, WKU SBDC; and Gabrielle Wright, Southeast Community and Technical College SBDC. Marking 15 years of service was John Preston, EKU SBDC, and celebrating 25 years were Linda Casebolt, Morehead SBDC and David Stevens, UK Central office.

“ The SBDC staff work so hard to serve small businesses in their regions, it is a pleasure to acknowledge their success, ”
– Naugle said.

The Kentucky Small Business Development Center, part of the UK College of Agriculture, Food and Environment , is a network of 15 offices located throughout the state that helps existing and start-up businesses succeed by offering high quality, in-depth and hands-on services. The KSBDC is a partner program with the U.S. Small Business Administration. For more information on KSBDC services, visit their website, http://www.ksbdc.org/.Contact:

Roberta Meisel, 859-257-7668

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content